Good habits for successful writing…

March 28, 2008

write-us.gif


So I’m on a slight roll and I don’t want to stop for lack of will, depression or laziness. Or because I can’t stop watching America’s Top Model re-runs.


I’ve come across a few websites that discuss good habits for successful writers. One specific question I had was how long should I write? This site suggests 1,500 words a day is sufficient. I thought that was more tangible way of looking at a daily goal.


This is a funny list of what countless famous writers did to get their words from pen to paper.


I liked how this list made sure a writer should add the element of enjoyment and fun to the mix.

3 Responses to “Good habits for successful writing…”

  1. wwwmy Says:

    Hi, wanted to drop you a comment send you some positive writing energy – can’t hurt right? 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  2. nluckhurst Says:

    A slight role (roll)? Isn’t that an oxymoron? 🙂

    You can use a number of words as a goal, but for busy people, sometimes a time limit is a better measure. 1500 words is a respectable amount to write, but if you’re stuck, it could take more time than you have to get that much down on paper. I have found the most important factor for me is picking a time when my mind is quiet- when no one needs me to do something for them so I can concentrate.

    And turn off the TV- it’s a really impediment to writing!


  3. Thank you for the link! I’ve had 7,000 word days, to be certain, but 1,500 is the average, according to a completely informal study I’ve made of my writing friends 🙂


Leave a Reply

