My inability to live with stillness…

March 31, 2008

Writing was a bit challenging today. I wrote for an hour, but I’m not sure where the character is going.

I decided I’m going to take a screenwriting class. I feel that being around other writers would be very helpful for me. In a few months (with the hopeful arrival of the little one…) I won’t be able to do as much writing as I can. I don’t want to fritter time away in my office by myself when I get stuck. I want to use this precious time I have to create fruitful work. Plus, the consistency will be good for me.

I met with my career coach today who steered me in the right direction in terms of perceiving what’s happening in my career. One week I’ll be auditioning for a network television show, the next I’m sitting around, depressed, on my couch wondering what to do with my life. I realized that without a full time job, the lulls of non-activity are really unsettling for me. Being able to focus solely on my acting career can be scary without the constant whir of motion…even if that motion is counterproductive. One of the major benefits of being pregnant (thank you, unborn child) is that I can only focus on one thing at a time. Physically I don’t have the energy.

After the feature and two shorts are wrapped up, I told my coach that in 2009 I wanted to put up a one-woman show. Surprisingly my coach was super psyched with that idea and, as it turns out, is an expert on one person shows. Winning various awards three years in a row at the New York Fringe Festival, teaching at Second City in Chicago and helping others launch their one-person shows nationally and internationally. I was a bit shy about the endeavor but now I’m quite excited about it.

Later in the day, I spoke with my best bud from high school who has THREE children. She was telling me inane jokes that she found through email. Usually I hate them but for some reason coming from her they struck me as funny. 

I find talking to my friends who have kids keeps me a bit sane. Especially in understanding how physically uncomfortable I can get sometimes. You can’t really explain it, it just is and they get it. Even if our loving husbands don’t.

Just got a call from a really cool casting director at ABC to be a reader for some auditions tomorrow. I love being there and seeing those guys. They are a compassionate group of people who care about actors.

4 Responses to “My inability to live with stillness…”

  1. Bill Dueease Says:

    You are so lucky and smart to have found your ideal career coach to be your totally supportive confidential partner to assist you to discover and achieve your own career goals. You are human and your discovery and acceptance of who you really are through coaching will improve your journey and your successes. Have fun and good luck!


  2. Networking is a very competitive field. Others told me that maintaining focused websites as a career coach, will help. Do you think the use of websites like yours will make a difference?

  3. actingforalivin Says:

    Hi Career Coaching,
    I can’t answer your question from my experience because I don’t use my blog to network. I use it to remember what I did for that day and also express myself.

    However, I believe if you are a business owner and have fresh content that people find interesting, then it would seem to me that it could help. It gives people to go to your site more often.

  4. actingforalivin Says:

    Bill,
    Thank you for your kind words! I consider myself very lucky to have found my coach because he has helped my career by leaps and bounds. What surprised me was that often the roadblocks or obstacles were caused by myself rather than outside forces. Good luck to you as well.


Leave a Reply

