May 21, 2008

May 21, 2008

Woke up with the alarm and meditated for 15 minutes. While I was in San Francisco, I ran across a book called “Creating a Life Worth Living” by Carol Lloyd. It’s a pragmatic book about creating a life as a creative person. The tone is not reverent, but very pragmatic and sensible. It leapt off the shelf and has been quite helpful.

One of the exercises in the book is to meditate or do something similar for the next seven days. It has definitely helped. Rather than feeling mentally “tight”, I feel a bit more “space” and agility. I also do feel more creative.

I’ll have to admit, I’ve been a bit nervous about the changes happening. I’m definitely getting bigger and having a difficult time getting around. Mentally I also began to fret terribly about finishing the script and short films. I began listening to the stealthy and evil voices in my head that told me that my work would never amount to anything and I was going to end up old, poor and penniless on the street. This is common for creative types and we really have to put the kabash on those insidious voices or self doubts. This makes us go get day jobs where we can make more money and forget about our dreams.

Today I decided to walk to work. It’s about 20 minutes and I thought it was wise to sneak in some exercise anyway I can. I love the work because it’s mindless. It’s easy and when there is down time, I’ve started whipping on the script and revising it. I also like the people who are all crazy cool musician types…very similar to actor types. I’m not completely wiped out when I get home and can function like a semi-normal person.

And this girl from this band called The St. Mannequins sent me her CD in the mail…I LOVE IT SO MUCH. It’s totally girly, whimsical and fun fun fun. I played it over 3 times when I first opened it. I met her on a print shoot a few months ago, super happy to hear it.

Leave a Reply

