Yoga, walking, meditating, writing.

June 5, 2008

Today I walked to the music store to work.

Before I left for work I read a few chapters of Syd Field’s book, The Screenwriter’s Problem Solver. It was really helpful because I do feel I’m bit hung up on the main character being interesting enough. There are some things I need to think about including: the character’s point of view, the character’s relationship with others and what the character intrinsically wants.

While at work I listened to the Creative Screenwriting Podcast and listened to the producer of the movie “Waitress“. I had heard about the murder of actress/writer/director Adrienne Shelly two years ago. But when I heard Michael Roiff talk about Adrienne and how she herself was pregnant and became a mother while making this project happen, it really touched me. Apparently she had become pregnant and being an actress felt torn about becoming a mother. She had worked so hard to cultivate her career and suddenly found herself at a crossroad (sound familiar?). He said that Adrienne showed it was possible to have it all, to be a mother and to have a career. It was inspiring to hear and it made me Netflix the movie and get my ass hauling on my script. You hear of people being hurt or arrested in the news and they are more or less flat characters or intangible. Listening to Michael talk about Adrienne being a wonderful mother, a writer/director with a clear vision made her come to life for me, flesh and blood.

Tomorrow I leave for a meditation retreat for a few days. I’m a bit nervous about it but also excited. They are always hard work but worth the effort.

I forgot I went to yoga yesterday and that was fantastic.

I also FORGOT to register for the screenwriting class I planned to register for so I’m a bit bummed. My buddy told me not to worry and to go to the class to see if I could be added in. I love my friends.

Leave a Reply

