We’re in highschool again, folks!

May 15, 2009

I’ve been meeting other mothers at these mom things.  I’m doing this so Maddie can meet other kids and I can meet other mothers.

I went to one group and I couldn’t find any pants so I wore my post pregnancy pants.  I held Baby M in the Ergo Baby (baby carrier) and my pants slid way down my butt because  I’m back to my normal weight.

I felt embarressed and mumbled to a nearby duo of mothers:  “Sorry, these are my fat jeans.”

I didn’t realize they might have been a little overweight and one was highly offended and huffed and walked away.

The old me, (the one with energy and snappy comebacks) would have said something funny.  But I’m in a funk.  So I just sort of stood there silently thus allowing the woman to jump to major conclusions.

I’m usually good at getting myself out of funks, but lately I’ve been a bit bluer than usual.  I’m going to change things up and try a different strategy because currently it’s not really working…Sorry for the wonkiness…

UPDATE:  June 1, 2009 – I forgot to mention that where we live, the community is inundated with Asians (Korean and Chinese) because the school districts are very good.  The “original” citizens are mostly  Caucasian and there is a slight funny feeling between the groups.  I see it from both sides.  Koreans and Chinese can tend to be insular (I am Korean-American and have witnessed it) and stick to themselves.  From the non-Asian side there is a subtle but definite present anti-immigrant resentment.

I see it from both sides and sympathize with them both.  One side happily comes in and the other side feels invaded.  That said, I’m Asian but I don’t fit in with the mothers who are from Asian countries and are grooming their kids in utero to go to Harvard.  And because I’m not white, I’m definitely viewed with a cast of suspicion or wariness from the Caucasians.

2 Responses to “We’re in highschool again, folks!”


  1. I think that the isolation and cultural game playing is the hardest part of being a mom.

    In my world, we move a lot because of my husband’s job.
    I find it so hard to meet moms and get that “connection” we crave as human beings – artists and not just mothers. We put up with plenty of rudeness and toxic mommy behavior for the sake of our children.

    I have a Brownie Girl Scout troop because I had hoped that I would meet some cool moms with like interests that we could share with our children. Nope. Just Women who want to drop their kid off (or have me pick them up even) and have me teach them and do art with them and then they want to pick them up (or have me drop them home). My expectation was that there would be more mom involment and sisterhood. I have not given up hope, I just realized that we are not in the community that is a good fit for me personally.

    I love your blog ponderings and opinions and thank you for that Toxic link from last year (how I found your site) I am so fed up with toxic drama loven bored people.

    Here’s to a summer of only the good kind of Drama!

    • actingforalivin Says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words, I really appreciate it. It helps we have other avenues to meet people who “get us”. :-D! Don’t give up on the sisterhood thing, it’s just harder to find…So glad to have you.


Leave a Reply

