Models vs. Actors

June 25, 2009

I had an ASICS go-see.  It was a room filled with 19 year old Abercrombie & Fitch/Ford model types.  I didn’t want to be there.

Someone gushed about how they were on the Abercrombie & Fitch site.  Everyone (except me) had washboard abs and defined muscle.  Baby M and our new babysitter were walking around the street outside.

An Asian model next to me was in an animated conversation about how slow things were and new exercise routines.  Their whole conversation was shop talk:  where they had travelled, how they hadn’t worked in a while, which agents they were freelancing with.   I felt for these girls.  They were tall, thin and beautiful.  I’m attractive, but if you saw me walk down the street, you probably wouldn’t stop and give me a second glance.  Having all of your self worth based on your looks can sometimes make you feel not so great.  Even from doing commercial print work, I’ve often looked at myself and wondered: Am I too fat?  The same feeling that ran through my head as I sat in the chair.  I’ve definitely been out of the game and could definitely hit the gym.

As Tyra Banks says, you have to have a career after being a model.

After the photographer took pictures of me, I scurried downstairs to my beloved Baby M.  She was just waking up from a nap and we strolled around in the rain.  The baby sitter quipped:  “Wow, I’ve never seen so many attractive people in one spot!”

Note to self:  Get a blackberry and go to the gym.

Leave a Reply

