November 18, 2008

November 18, 2008

Today Baby M and I went to the hemotologist.  I did not realize that the jaundice issue was really a non issue and the reason we had to see a doctor was because one of her blood tests came back slightly abnormal.  The doctors wanted to see her for further testing.  She is absolutely fine and healthy but has a slightly lower blood cell level.  Her jaundice did go down (7.5, yay!) and the doctor said she looked super healthy so he would not test her but did want to see her in a week.

While I grumbled about going to the hospital, once I got there I felt differently.  I was struck by the very sick children there.  Ones that were going through chemo and lost their hair, tiny ones wearing masks or getting blood drawn for more serious issues.  It made me grateful for health, it really is a gift.

After, I prepped everything at home (dinner, cleaned up, baby bottles etc.) so I could go to the one person show class.

Class was quite amazing.  There are only 3 other people in the class and …it is a lot harder than I thought it was going to be.  I’ve been a bit out of the loop and felt a bit shy when I presented my material.  I also felt that the other writers were VERY good (which is a good thing) and it made me nervous to present my own stuff.  I still don’t know what it’s about though I did learn a few elements that separate a good solo show from a bad one.  One element is having the 3 act structure:  beginning middle and end.  The second element (and the one I find fascinating) is making sure that your character is ACTIVE in your story instead of simply reacting to events.  Subtle, but very powerful.  There are more, but these two were most interesting to me.

Came home, fed baby, passed out.

Leave a comment